Stitó:s Lá:lém totí:lt School Boundary Review

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

Stitó:s Lá:lém totí:lt, the Chilliwack School District's new elementary/middle school, will open in September 2022. The new school includes 930 student spaces in grades K-8. The school is located on Tyson Road near the Vedder River, and will be surrounded by nature, park space and trails, with the Great Blue Heron Nature Reserve nearby.

We want your feedback on the neighbourhood boundaries that will determine the school catchment area.


We are looking for feedback on the boundary option presented in our Boundary Review & Feeder School Relationships document.

Highlights:

  • Students at Watson Elementary will continue to have the choice to attend Mount Slesse Middle or Vedder Middle.
  • To balance enrollment at middle schools, Promontory Elementary, Greendale Elementary and Yarrow Elementary grade 5 students will transition into Stitó:s Elementary/Middle in grade 6.
  • Students from Stitó:s Elementary (k-5) and students who transitioned to Stitó:s Lá:lém totí:lt Middle from Promontory at grade 6 will transition to G.W. Graham Secondary at grade 9.
  • Students from Greendale and Yarrow who transitioned to Stitó:s in grade 6 will transition to Sardis Secondary at grade 9.
  • The new Stitó:s Elementary/Middle School boundary will change the existing boundaries at Unsworth Elementary, Vedder Elementary and Watson Elementary.


Stitó:s Lá:lém totí:lt, the Chilliwack School District's new elementary/middle school, will open in September 2022. The new school includes 930 student spaces in grades K-8. The school is located on Tyson Road near the Vedder River, and will be surrounded by nature, park space and trails, with the Great Blue Heron Nature Reserve nearby.

We want your feedback on the neighbourhood boundaries that will determine the school catchment area.


We are looking for feedback on the boundary option presented in our Boundary Review & Feeder School Relationships document.

Highlights:

  • Students at Watson Elementary will continue to have the choice to attend Mount Slesse Middle or Vedder Middle.
  • To balance enrollment at middle schools, Promontory Elementary, Greendale Elementary and Yarrow Elementary grade 5 students will transition into Stitó:s Elementary/Middle in grade 6.
  • Students from Stitó:s Elementary (k-5) and students who transitioned to Stitó:s Lá:lém totí:lt Middle from Promontory at grade 6 will transition to G.W. Graham Secondary at grade 9.
  • Students from Greendale and Yarrow who transitioned to Stitó:s in grade 6 will transition to Sardis Secondary at grade 9.
  • The new Stitó:s Elementary/Middle School boundary will change the existing boundaries at Unsworth Elementary, Vedder Elementary and Watson Elementary.


Tell us your thoughts on the proposed catchment option for Stitó:s Lá:lém totí:lt Elementary/Middle School.

Check out the FAQ section to see if your question has already been answered.

You need to be signed in to comment in this Guest Book. Click here to Sign In or Register to get involved

Cultas Lake children should go to the new school for Middle school.

MetalMom88 30 days ago

I am fine with the proposal for which elementary schools go to which middle schools as I understand that there is a major need to balance numbers even if it doesn’t always mean closest for everyone. If chilliwack had planned ahead for schools & population it could have been better suited to allowing more kids to be able to walk to the closest school. My kids have to/will have to navigate some busy roads where vehicles don’t stop much less slow down and I do not like it but until the city starts adding infrastructure to meet the needs (current and future) of the people already here this seems to be the best way to deal with a hugely increasing population.

Bad_Wolf 30 days ago

I very very very much agree with all the parents talking about Webster crossing attending the new school. It is such a dangerous intersection for the kiddos and if there is a safer option (with the new school on the same side and no cars) our city NEEDS to consider it!

Jbeato about 2 months ago

We are on Chilliwack Lake Rd and are much closer to this school than Cultus. Definitely hoping the catchment is adjusted by the time my toddler goes to this school as it looks like it will be amazing and I would love for her to be in one school for elementary and middle! Definitely think cultus catchment should be looked at closer.

Cmcgurgan 2 months ago

I am very pleased that Yarrow Elementary students will be able to attend this middle school. As another commenter mentioned, Yarrow students already travel a far way to middle school compared to other students in the district, so I am happy that they will be able to make use of the existing bike path to do so.

JLParent 2 months ago

This looks like a carefully considered decision that is economically and socially responsible. My three children are currently at Yarrow Elementary, Vedder Middle, and Sardis Secondary (via Mount Slesse before reconfiguration). I like the continuity of all three doing K-5 (or K-6 before) at Yarrow and then graduating from Sardis Secondary. The change of middle school (Slesse, Vedder, and now Stito:s) seems manageable and reasonable.

There is also some nice program alignment with Yarrow's Place-Based Education program leading to the place-based/outdoor oriented focus at Stito:s.

Biking to Stito:s from Yarrow also feels do-able. Yarrow students travel a long distance to school and this helps gives a more viable alternative to just taking the bus.

Thank you for all your good work on this.

Yarrow_parent 2 months ago

I’m disappointed that students within walking distance are being left out of this catchment for middle school. Why would students bussing from far distances be chosen to attend when local neighborhood students are not permitted. The catchment should include unsworth students for middle school as many can walk there for middle school without having to cross very busy roadways.

McLaren parent 3 months ago

I was very shocked to see this proposed catchment. My children currently attend Unsworth elementary with us living in Webster Crossing. We love the school, however our area has had a huge increase in development which has increased the road traffic in the area. Walking the kids to and from school, whether crossing Webster Rd at the Keith Wilson/Webster intersection or crossing the Keith Wilson/Unsworth intersection, is getting very dangerous. I have already brought this up with the city with no changes being made. I see close-calls daily of children almost being hit by cars. I know many parents from the school share the same concerns. I felt a sense of relief knowing a school was being built on our side of Keith Wilson as a walk along the river trail is so much more safe for the children. My suggestion would be making the boundary line Keith Wilson Rd and have the children of Webster Crossing/Lindys/Rivers Edge attend the new school so children don't have to cross such a dangerous road. Please consider making Unsworth and Watson the overflow schools from Promontory/Vedder. This way busses and cars can safely bring children to these schools since they would have been driving children anyway. Please think of the children on the south side of Keith Wilson Rd and reconsider this boundary.

BKL13 3 months ago

I don't understand how Webster Landing has been left out of this catchment? This new school promotes outdoor education and environmental studies yet you cut out a community that is in walking distance to this school and now more students of Webster may possibly be driven to Slesse with crossing chaotic Keith Wilson. You need to consider how unsafe crossing Keith Wilson is for anyone - let alone a youth. If more students on the south side of Keith Wilson are forced to cross the street to attend school then it will only be a matter of time before someone gets hurt. I've seen far too many close calls by people driving too fast and/or overtaking on the shoulder due to drivers being impatient as kids go to Unsworth from Webster. Your decision will only make this worse and when Keith Wilson turns into 4 lanes between Tyson and Unsworth its going to be a parents nightmare. Please do your part to decrease traffic on this road.

Setter 3 months ago

It doesn't make sense that Promontory go to the new school, it's farther away. Looking at the boundaries of other schools seems silly why they set it up the way it is. Kids should be going to the school closest to them and keep safety in mind.

allenj 3 months ago

I’m happy to see Promontory is included in the boundary. With all the new development happening on Promontory road. Vedder and Promontory need another school.

We live in the Vedder corner catchment on Promontory. Because we are out of the catchment for Promontory. My elementary school children get the bus to school.
Promontory elementary had six kindergarten classes this year. I can see why the council has made the decision to let Promontory students have a choice between schools.

I was surprised that Cultas lake wasn’t included in the catchment. However, considering that with the school being close students might walk/bike from Cultas lake. I can see this being a safety issue. Understanding safety, I’m surprised Webster’s isn’t included. The children could walk/bike to school not having to cross roads.

Choosing the catchment must be a daunting task. Thank you for all your hard work.

Jessica

Je79ica 3 months ago

This location is on the traditional territory of the Soowahlie FN! In respect to the name of the school, it’s only makes sense that the Soowahlie kids attend this school. I’m not impressed that our kids aren’t included.

Juliette 3 months ago

This looks great! I can imagine the logistics behind trying to determine this would not be an easy task. Thank you for all your hard work in putting this together.

seeemel 3 months ago

Cultus lake should be definitely included!!!
It does not make sense to pass this school and have to go to MSMS.
I hope you will rethink this!

Momof3 3 months ago

Pleased to see Greendale in this new school catchment. Thank you!

Mountaincool 3 months ago

I am heartbroken to see you have left out the small Webster community. Everyone on the south side of Keith Wilson, should be included. Look at the map again and look how you made it.
Please, Change to include us! We should be at least given the option.

Websters Landing parents 3 months ago

Why no mention of Cultus Lake?

Sabrina 3 months ago

Really disappointed to see Webster’s/Lindys area cut off from the middle school boundary. This area should be considered.

Kristen 3 months ago

Just want to add more as I was trying to cross Keith Wilson this morning and it’s an absolute zoo. Keep things on one side of Keith Wilson allowing kids to walk/bike safely to school. Isn’t Keith Wilson changing to 4 lanes? Please reconsider as I prefer to send my kids on a river trail than cross four lanes of traffic. After witnessing close calls we usually hop in the car now and I’d really prefer not to.

UnsworthE 3 months ago

On the map it looks like Promontory is closer, but it doesn't take into account the actual commute! Promontory students would be closer to Mt. Slesse, while students from Cutlus Lake are closer to Stitó:s. It doesn't make much sense.

Nik 3 months ago